New Grade System For NUC

To stay updated and informed Please kindly assist in sharing our post

The National Universities Commission, NUC is no longer using a scale of 5.

The new system is based on a scale of 4.
First Class is 3.5 – 4.
Second Class is 3 – 3.49.
Second class lower is 2.0 – 2.99.

in a released to all Nigerian Universities.


Under the new Four (4)-Point Grading Scale, grades to be used for students who have satisfactorily completed the course of study are as follows:

Letter Grade: Marks Grade Point:
A (70 and above) 4
B (60-69%) 3
C (50-59%) 2
D (45-49%) 1
E (40-44%) 0.

CGPA Ranges under the new Four (4)- Point Grading Scale for Classification of Degrees:
3.5- 4.00 – First Class Honours
3.0-3.49 – Second Class Honours (Upper Division).
2.0-2.99 – Second Class Honours (Lower Division).
1.0-1.99 – Third Class Honours.

No student whose CGPA is less than 1.0 shall be awarded a degree.
Deans of Faculties and Heads of Departments are enjoined to ensure compliance and commencement of the new regulations with the intakes of 2017/2018 Session, while the old regulations remain applicable to students admitted before the 2017/2018 Session."

If you have any question, or any assistance or any request whatsoever, you are free to ask us below in our comment box section

No comments: